2016 Troxellian Literature Awards

It’s year number four for the world famous Troxellian Literature Awards, the mandatory end-of-year awards where I rate all the books I read over the past year and give them fake awards based on their goodness or badness (yup, those are the words I chose to use).

This was a down year for me reading-wise since I did a lot of writing this year. I finished another novel earlier in the year (an epic fantasy comedy) and I’m eight chapters into my latest novel (where a recent high school grad spends 30 days riding a roller coaster as part of a radio contest). As part of my revision process for my epic fantasy comedy I reread the entire Lord of the Rings saga so that took up a large part of the year. I also read a large number of graphic novels because…I like them and pictures are easier to look at than large blocks of text. In fact, a third of the books I read were graphic novels this year. Wow.

Regardless, there’s some interesting stuff on the list this year…and some utter crap. Here are the nominees in the order that I read them. I’ll post the winners some time before the end of the year:

1. Batman: Secret City by Scott Snyder (GN)

2. Batman: Dark City by Scott Snyder (GN)

3. Man in the High Castle by Phillip K. Dick

4. Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury

5. The Hobbit by J.R.R Tolkien

6. Astonishing X-Men by Joss Whedon (GN)

7. The Fellowship of the Ring by Tolkien

8. The Two Towers by Tolkien

9. Return of the King by Tolkien

10. What’s Eating Gilbert Grape? by Peter Hedges

11. Brian’s Winter by Gary Paulsen

12. Tomorrow When the War Began by John Marsden

13. After the Snow by S.D. Crockett

14. Under the Dome by Stephen King

15. Malice by Chris Wooding

16. The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven by Sherman Alexie

17. The Walking Dead Compendium 3 by Robert Kirkman (GN)

18. Another Fine Myth by Robert Asprin

19. Old Man Logan by Mark Miller (GN)

20. X-Men Apocalypse Compendium (GN)

21. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

22. Watchmen by Alan Moore (GN)

 

~ by themoderntranscendentalist on December 21, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
