Chasing Summer

Fireflies

I just posted a new online short story to my website. This one’s called “Chasing Summer” and it’s about a father trying to recapture the feeling of “summer” he remembers from his youth.

I wrote this one before I had children, but it’s more true now than when I wrote it six years ago. As an adult, it’s hard to feel the freedom that summer offered after school let out and you had the vastness of summer vacation stretching out before you into infinity. The days seemed to last forever. Catching fireflies, playing flashlight tag, campfires, water balloon fights, ice pops, cannonballs off the diving board. All those things helped to define that feeling of “summer.”

I came up with the idea for this story one night sitting on my front porch with my wife one balmy summer evening. This was back in 2010 before we had children. We were enjoying some adult beverages watching the fireflies do figure eights over our hydrangea bushes. I was a teacher and had nothing to do the next day, but for some reason I still couldn’t feel that sense of freedom I remembered from my youth. I desperately wanted to recapture that feeling. I chased after the fireflies. I sucked on an ice pop. Nothing worked. The feeling was lost to me.

Six years later I’ve rediscovered that feeling. When I hang out in the baby pool with my four-year old son and my one-and-a-half year old daughter, I feel it. When they stay up late and we chase after fireflies I feel it. When we run around the yard squirting water guns at each other I feel it. That feeling of “summer” is forbidden to adults. It’s only through one’s children the feeling can be recaptured. That’s what’s so great about having children. They reopen the gates to childhood and let you tip-toe around in it for a few minutes and it’s enough to help you remember. It’s enough.

If you’re interested in reading “Chasing Summer,” follow the link to my website. Have a great summer!

Read it here: Chasing Summer

~ by themoderntranscendentalist on June 23, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
