Bring on the Apocalypse!

Infected_World

So it’s been a while since my last short story was published. I don’t remember being very productive as a writer during my son’s first year of existence and I’ve been equally unproductive during my daughter’s first ten months. These kids need to eat and be entertained and, you know, live and stuff. It can be a real drag.

Disclaimer*** This is sarcasm. I love my children. Please do not call Protective Services. Thank you.

I am happy to announce that my literary drought has come to an end. My short story, Epidemic, was chosen to be included in a collection of apocalyptic stories called INFECTED WORLD. The compilation is set to be released in Fall of 2016. Here’s the tagline from DreamFusion Press, the publishers of the collection:

Zombies, outbreaks, psychological terrors, paranoia, delusions, outbreak situations and much more! Does humanity stand a chance?

I’m pretty proud of my story. It’s about a woman who comes home during an apocalyptic viral outbreak to discover her husband has taken their children and gone into hiding out of fear that the woman is infected. It takes a very cliche apocalyptic scenario and makes it a more character-driven, literary story as the woman struggles with her husband’s betrayal and the utter helplessness of trying to recover her children as the world crumbles all around her.

I know, pretty deep for an end-of-days virus story, but I think that’s why it was selected. Look for it in 2016.

Here’s a link to DreamFusion Press and their other collections: DreamFusion Press

~ by themoderntranscendentalist on November 30, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
