2014 Troxellian Literature Awards…OF DOOM! Part I

It’s that time of year again when bloggers gather around their laptops and tablets and judge the year’s best fiction from the perspective of someone who reads occasionally but otherwise has no business doing so. I will do the same.

That’s right! It’s time for the second annual TROXELLIAN LITERATURE AWARDS…OF DOOOOOOM! Because of my love of ranking things, I hold my own literary awards at the end of the year. Unfortunately, I don’t read recent releases because recent releases are often over-hyped bullshit (plus they’re expensive and I am poor). So instead of ranking the best releases of the year, I give out awards and anti-awards to whatever books I read during the calendar year. My reading selections usually fall into one of the following categories:

1. Classics that I’ve never gotten around to reading

2. Books I enjoyed in the past that I’m rereading

3. Books recommended to me by someone I trust (Ha! Just kidding. I don’t trust anyone)

4. Books that have to do with the novel I’m currently writing

5. Books I stumble upon and say, “Whoa. Look at that one. I’ll read that.”

This past year I started writing my first YA book so I read several YA books and a ton of classic and celebrated works. This year’s line-up is strong. I think that has a lot to do with the fact that I knew I was going to do these awards again so I wanted to read interesting works that I would enjoy writing about. It paid off. I would travel back to time in a Dolorean to the beginning of this year just so I could reread most of these books. They’re THAT good.

Anyways, here are the contenders for the awards in the order they were read:

1. Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

2. Dead Eye Dick by Kurt Vonnegut

3. Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger

4. On the Road by Jack Kerouac

5. Noise by Darin Bradley

6. Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood

7. Miss Peregrin’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

8. Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut

9. Try Not to Breathe by Jennifer Hubbard

10. The Maze Runner by James Dashner

11. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

12. The Gunslinger by Stephen King

13. Bluebeard by Kurt Vonnegut

14. World War Z by Max Brooks

15. Lamb by Christopher Moore

16. Maddaddam by Margaret Atwood

17. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

18. Whirligig by Paul Fleischman

19. Weetzie Bat by Francesca Lia Block

20. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

21. The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury

22. The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand

23. Zombie by JR Angelella

24. Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers

25. Paper Towns by John Green

26. Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe

27. Wool by Hugh Howey

So there are the nominees. There are some strong contenders there for the categories. Some of my categories from last year will appear again, but I plan on introducing some new awards, too. I’ll be posting the winners some time after the holidays. Happy reading to all and to all a good night!

~ by themoderntranscendentalist on December 22, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
