Bellator: A Story about a normal teenager who fights cross-dimesional monsters

I inspired myself a few months back. That’s a big part of the reason why I’m my own role model (just like Matthew Mcconaughey). I wrote this blog post about how boys don’t read because no one writes books for them anymore. The more I thought about it, the more I realized how right I was.

Look at the last two mega-blockbuster book series that eventually spawned movie franchises. Twilight is certainly geared towards girls (very desperate and pathetic girls) and even Hunger Games, a violent dystopian YA book, stars the now cliché “strong, female protagonist.” The main male character in HG is Peeta, a young man who specializes in being a giant wussy and pretending to be moss.  The latest popular dystopian YA book-to-movie treatment is Divergent and guess what? Another strong, female protagonist. SHOCKING! There’s a problem here. Where are all the boy books?

So I’ve decided to become the change I want to see in the world. If there aren’t enough “boy books” on the market, then I will write some. As a high school English teacher, teenage boys are certainly a demographic I have to endure on a daily basis. I know what they’re into: violence, humor, and girls. So that will be my thing. I will be a writer of “boy books,” New Adult books geared toward young gentlemen who want to read books that kick ass. These agents are always harping about a platform? Well now I’m going to grab a hammer and some nails and build my own.

My first “boy book” project is Bellator: Teenage Cross-Dimensional Warrior. It’s about a high school junior who learns that he’s a cross-dimensional warrior and struggles to balance his day-to-day responsibilities with his duty to protect our dimension. One minute he’s taking  math test, the next he’s battling for his life in hand-to-hand combat. The real problem is he’s the only one who can see these monsters so no one believes how important he is. Unlike a lot of books for teenagers, this one isn’t all emo “woe-is-me,” my life is horrible bullshit. It’s action-packed and funny and says a lot about how difficult it can be for teenagers to accept adult responsibilities.

I’m into my first revision now. Maybe I’m onto something. Let me know what you think.

~ by themoderntranscendentalist on March 15, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
