The Urinal on The Story Shack

urinal

My short story, “The Urinal,” was published today on The Story Shack. It’s a flash fiction piece about a recently-promoted woman being forced to use the urinal in her private bathroom. Yeah, that’s what it’s about…

It’s a story I never thought would be published. I wrote it for a flash fiction contest for the Lehigh Valley Writer’s Conference two years ago. I’ve been accused of writing “boy stories” and, considering the number of women who attend these conferences, I decided to cater the story to the audience and write a story about a strong, female protagonist. The few women I overheard discussing my entry claimed the story was “disturbing” and “kind of gross” so I ended up alienating the audience I was pandering to.

Needless to say, I epically failed to win the contest.

But, two years later, the story found a home on The Story Shack. A special thanks to Cara Lynch for providing the illustration that accompanies the story. Simply put, it’s an amazing picture of a girl butt backing up over a urinal.  All due respect to my writing, it’s my favorite part of the story.

Another thanks to my wife, Cindy, for explaining that a girl would have to back up into a urinal rather than tackle it head-on (like I had in the first draft). That’s why I write boy stories.

Check out “The Urinal” at http://thestoryshack.com/2014/01/29/urinal-douglas-james-troxell-illustrated-cara-lynch/

~ by themoderntranscendentalist on January 29, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
