2013 in Review

goodbye_2k13

I feel good about the year 2013. I accomplished a lot on my continuing writing sojourn. There were several small victories and some more modest triumphs – nothing that broke through the glass ceiling but all quality stops on the journey.

I earned my Masters in Creative Writing from Wilkes University (represent…) this past June. It was three years in the making. I don’t put too much stock in advanced degrees, but I am proud of being the only student in the program’s history to graduate with two publishable manuscripts (Cheshire Moon and Dystopia). Now I just need to find someone to publish them.

I had three short stories accepted for publication in 2013. A Flame Extinguished appeared in Fiction365 in March, The Working Dead appeared in Dark Futures Fiction in October, and The Urinal will appear in Story Shack later this month. Not a bad showing.

On the writing front, I finished the first draft of my YA novel, Bellator, on the last day of December. This is my YA novel about the nerdy high school student who discovers he is a cross-dimensional warrior when all he really wants is to graduate and maybe get laid. I’m happy with the first draft. We’ll see what happens in revision.

And THE STREAK…continues! Over 1098 days straight without missing a day writing. Booya.

My goal for 2014? Easy. I want to publish a novel. I’m close…I’m close. We’ll get there.

In the words of a mediocre man, FORWARD!

~ by themoderntranscendentalist on January 2, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
