The 2013 Troxellian Literature Awards…Of Doom! Part I

Most literature bloggers and websites run “Best of the Year” awards every December. I’m always left out because I never read recently-released books. If a book stands the test of time, then I’m in, but if I can’t buy a .99 “poor” condition paperback copy of it on Amazon, then forget it. I’m always disappointed because one of my favorite things to do is rank things to satisfy my mild condition of OCD. When I was a kid, I used to line up all 28 NFL miniature football helmets on my shelf in order based on how much I liked the teams and then get super pissed when my mom ruined the order.

So, in order to satiate my OCD, I’ve decided to run my own awards based solely on the books I’ve read this past year. I track my writing and reading hours so I have a fairly comprehensive list of all the books I read in 2013. I certainly don’t get to read as much as I’d like with writing and teaching swallowing most of the hours of the day, and the books I do read are pretty selective. I only read three kinds of books: books I read connected to something I’m writing, books recommended by someone I trust, and books that are deemed “classics” that I’ve never gotten around to reading.  I’m going to have to add a fourth category, though, because, as I get more involved in the writing community, I’m starting to read books because I know the author.

This year’s list includes the tail end of my dystopian research books, my summer of books I borrowed from my school’s library, and the beginning of my YA research (including a sprinkling of random recommendations throughout). So, without, further ado, here are this year’s nominations for THE 2013 TROXELLIAN LITERATURE AWARDS…OF DOOM! Books are presented in the order they were read:

1. Straight Man by Richard Russo

2. Jailbird by Kurt Vonnegut

3. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

4. Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon

5. The Time Machine by H.G. Wells

6. Nation by Terry Pratchett

7. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

8. Eva’s Cousin by Sibylle Knauss

9. Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

10. Flowers for Algeron by Daniel Keyes

11. The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton

12. I am the Cheese by Robert Cormier

13. The Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum

14. The Hobbit by T.R.R. Tolkien

15. We All Fall Down by Robert Cormier

16. Wonder Boys by Michael Chabon

17. Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman

18. The Jiu-Jitsu Bum by Chris Campion

19. Mother Night by Kurt Vonnegut

20. Lately by Sara Pritchard

I’m in the middle of reading Super Sad True Love Story by Gary Shteyngart so that won’t qualify for 2013. I’ll post the actual awards some time before Christmas. Yay! Ranking!

 

~ by themoderntranscendentalist on December 19, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
