Finished…………………………………….

cheshire_moon

There’s no such thing as a finished novel.

I’ve been working on my novel, Cheshire Moon, off and on now for close to six years. In that time I’ve written ten official drafts and probably close to fifteen drafts overall. I’ve workshopped it in my Masters program and with pretty much anyone who would read it.  The beginning and ending have totally changed and characters have been added and entirely removed.

But now, seriously, it’s finished…

Of course I’ve said this before. But, whether it’s really finished or not, I’m beginning the not-so-fun process of trying to find an agent or publisher. Writing, I love. I’ve even grown to appreciate the transformation process of revision and editing. Those are writer things. The grueling and aggravating process of finding an outlet for one’s written work is writer’s work, too…which makes use of skills that most writers do not possess. I am not a salesman. I hate salesman. But now I have to sell my work (and myself) in order to get my work into print. That’s the game.

I have an offer from a small publishing house to publish Cheshire Moon, but it would be an ebook release only. I’m hesitant to go that route because I wouldn’t be able to read my own book. I like books; I don’t like ebooks. I feel like releasing a book as an ebook exclusive limits the number of readers one can reach, which is troubling when one has to do his own marketing for the project. The thought of trying to sell a hypothetical book is daunting. Plus I’d never have that moment of holding my published work with my name on the shiny cover. That’s really what I want. I know it’s a unique book, but I’d regret it if I didn’t at least try to land a deal where physical copies of my book were being sold. It might not happen, but I at least want to fight the good fight.

In the meantime, I can always work on my novel…

~ by themoderntranscendentalist on August 29, 2013.

2 Responses to “Finished…………………………………….”

  1. Amen to “there’s no such thing as a finished novel.” #can’tstopediting

  2. I hope all goes well. I love reading about this journey. Writing, finally finishing, and then getting published. The writers life. I agree about the book thing as well. There is nothing like the physical thing. You could try doing both though. I heard the ebooks generate good earnings.

Leave a Reply

 
