Life Getting in the Way

It’s strange how writers look at the world sometimes.

My family moved this past summer. Anyone who has ever moved a family and a house packed full of stuff knows what an absolutely all-encompassing time abyss it can be. For about a month I woke up every morning saying to myself, “All right. What do I have to do for the house today?” Whether it was going to the bank or collecting boxes or calling about transferring services like cable and internet, there was always something to do. Add to that working and taking care of a one-year old child and there was more stuff to do than hours in the day.

And I found myself lamenting for my lost writing time. I still usually found an hour or two to write late at night, but it wasn’t close to my usual summertime production. In my mind, life was getting in the way of my writing time. Then I realized how ludicrous (and kind of selfish) that was. If anything, my writing usually gets in the way of life.

I think sometimes, as writers, we forget that we’re constantly writing our own life stories every second of every day. A writer can’t live in a vacuum. The best inspiration comes from the experiences that happen to us in our everyday lives. My experiences selling our old home and buying our new provided me with experiences that I could have never imagined (because most were so frustrating and horrible). I was forced to deal with people I never would have had anything to do with (because most were so frustrating and horrible). Maybe I didn’t get as much writing done as I would have liked, but my family has a beautiful new home, and, when things do finally settle down around here, I’ll have great inspiration for new stories.

I guess the bottom line is this: Sometimes you have to live life, not just write about it.

~ by themoderntranscendentalist on August 7, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
