Three Years

three
Some how…some way…I made it.

THREE YEARS!

June 1, 2013 marked the third year of THE STREAK. I have now written at least one hour for the past 1,102 days. That’s three years and seven days for those of you counting. I remember being extremely excited when I hit the two-year mark last year. Now I’m just tired.

I imagined this post would be a milestone, a celebration, a tribute to my dedication and work ethic. After all, the chances of me reaching three years were slim with my son being born last June. He certainly occupied most of my days (and nights), and I’m proud to say I’ve been an involved father from the beginning. But I still wanted to write, so every day I would carve out an hour somewhere to write. And 365 days later, I’m another year into THE STREAK!

My evolution as a writer has taken an interesting arc. After the first year, I remember feeling guilty about how much time I had dedicated to my writing. Most of my other pastimes and activities were thrust aside (sorry Mario and exercise) to make room for it. I still needed to work a full-time job and be at least a decent husband so it wasn’t easy to carve out time for writing, but I made it work. After the second year of THE STREAK I had a routine that worked and I was producing a lot of good writing, publishing short stories (eight and counting), and working on my novels. Life was good.

Year three, however, has seen me take a turn for the worse. There were several days at the end of May where I really had to force myself in front of my laptop. I wanted to give up. I wanted to kill THE STREAK…just end it and be done with it. It had become such a burden. The writing hours I’d accumulated over three-years time had started to develop actual weight to them, and I so wanted to just set them down and rest. Last year THE STREAK was a point of pride for my workhorse approach to writing, but now I can honestly say I hate it. It’s become this annoying beast, always nipping at me, refusing to allow me to rest or ignore it for even a single day. I think sometimes how nice it would be to watch the sun set on a day without ever creating a single paragraph, a sentence, not even a word. It makes me smile.

But THE STREAK is a cruel master, and there is no rest for the wicked. Maybe if I publish a novel, I’ll reward myself with a word-free day. Until then, I shall trudge on, THE STREAK driving me ever forward, into eternity…

~ by themoderntranscendentalist on June 7, 2013.

2 Responses to “Three Years”

  1. WOW! I’ve done my best to write an hour a day this year, but this is dedication I could never match. What happens when you get sick!?

Leave a Reply

 
