The Scars of Revision

Ugh

My apologies for the lack of posts in April.

I’ve spent the month slaving over a revision of my novel, Dystopia, for my grad class thesis project. This revision is wiping the floor with me. Finishing a novel is a battle, but revision is absolute war. That’s where the real writing gets done.

I spent close to a year constructing an entire future society (controlled and owned by Walmart). Now I’ve spent the last few months tearing that society down, rearranging pillars, knocking down walls, wiping out entire wings and adding completely new ones. It’s tiresome work.

I feel most like a writer when I’m revising my work. Revision is not for the faint of heart. What stays? What goes (most of it should go)? Are the characters interesting? Are certain characters necessary? Is there enough conflict in the story? Is there a satisfying conclusion? There are a million options and no way to tell which one is correct. It’s a journey, and I can’t afford a GPS.

Then of course there’s the ticking clock of the deadline looming in May. As if the stress of getting the revision perfect isn’t enough, it has to be done perfectly by a certain time.

Oh well. That’s the great thing about revision. If this revision isn’t perfect, there’s always the next revision…and the next…and the next…

…until the end of time.

Or until I just give up and move on to the next project.

~ by themoderntranscendentalist on April 30, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
