2012 in Review

2012

The year 2012 has come to an end (without taking the world with it) and it’s time to reflect back on a long year in the news and writing.

As far as the year in news, this was the worst year EVER! Want proof? Here’s some of the top news stories of 2012: Sandusky is a pervert, Superstorm Sandy kicks the East Coast’s ass, some coward shoots up an elementary school in Newtown, another coward shoots up a movie theater, the most aggravating presidential election in history took place, the term “fiscal cliff” entered the lexicon, people got tricked into buying the iPhone 5, I had to watch the Olympics, the world refused to end, and people wouldn’t shut up about TRAYVON MARTIN!

The only thing cool thing that happened was when that bath salt zombie ate that homeless guy’s face because that’s as close as the world will ever come to a zombie apocalypse. Other than that, it was a fairly lousy year, and I only expect 2013 to be worse…if that’s even possible.

As far as my year in writing, it was a fairly mediocre year with a few notable accomplishments.

There were two major disappointments with two different agents asking for full manuscript reviews of Cheshire Moon, but both passed in the end so that was a double shot to the gonads.

I had two short stories published in 2012 (down from four in 2011) with A Wish Fulfilled being published in January and Alice in Suburbia appearing online in August.

The reason my short story production was so low, though, was that I finished my novel, Dystopia, at the end of the summer and its first revision just last month. It’s easily the best thing I’ve ever written. It still needs work, but it’s pretty hilarious and poignant at the same time…if I do say so myself.

THE STREAK is also still intact (amazingly) after two-and-a-half years. I’ve now clocked over 2650 hours and written 914 days in a row…which is pretty serious.

But forget all that nonsense. My son was born in June so that trumps everything else that happened this past year, positive or negative. Of all the dozens of short stories, novels, screenplays, and poems I’ve written over the years, Owen is easily my best creation.

But enough of that sappy stuff, here are my goals for 2K13:

1) Finish my Creative Writing M.A. at Wilkes

2) Earn four writing credits by the end of the year

3) Begin shopping Dystopia to agents

4) Complete the first draft of my next novel

Welp…see you in the fuuuuuuuuutuuuuuuuuurrrrrrrrrrrre…

~ by themoderntranscendentalist on December 30, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
