Two Year Anniversary

Image

The Streak lives on!

June 1, 2012 marked the two-year anniversary for The Streak. That’s right. At this point it’s so impressive it deserves to be CAPITALIZED.

The Streak marks the number of consecutive days I have written for at least an hour. On June 1, 2010, I decided to start taking my writing seriously. That was the year I was beginning my Creative Writing grad classes, and I figured if I was going to do this thing right I better go balls out or no balls at all. Before the birth of The Streak I wrote sporadically if I had time or if I felt like it. Days would turn into weeks and then weeks into a month without me having written a single word. It wasn’t a very effective system.

So two years ago I made a vow. I was going to write every single day – no matter what. Birthdays, Christmas, vacations, weddings, funerals, anniversaries be damned (not that I would ever say that to my wife)! It didn’t matter what was going on that day; I was going to write.

And write I did.

At this point The Streak has survived an earthquake, a hurricane, a massive flood, an October blizzard, and a three-day power outage. And STILL The Streak marches on! Including today The Streak stands at 735 days and counting. I may not be the most eloquent writer, but I’m certainly in the running for the most hardcore…if there is such a category.

This month the greatest threat to The Streak will arrive in the form of my first child. I figure if The Streak falls to anyone, it might as well be a tiny human being who depends on my for survival. And on that day when midnight strikes and I haven’t written a single word, I will force myself to visit this blog the next day and begrudgingly type these dreaded words: THE STREAK IS OVER.

But until that day, The Streak marches on like an unstoppable juggernaut shoving aside all obstacles like a fat guy knocking over a small child in line for the ice cream truck.

Long live THE STREAK!

~ by themoderntranscendentalist on June 4, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
