Short Story: Alice in Suburbia

I just finished the first draft of a story I’m calling Alice in Suburbia. It’s about a police officer who takes in a young girl who thinks she’s actually Alice from Alice in Wonderland. I think it’s a fun story and an interesting concept and it actually has some heart behind it so…go me.

Here’s a taste if you’re interested…

The squirrel ran off and Alice stomped her Mary Janes and crossed her arms. She glanced over and spotted Alan staring at her.

“Sir!” she called. “Oh sir!”

He put down his pressure washer and approached the fence.

“Everything ok?” he asked.

“Oh, my name’s Alice and I’m terribly, terribly lost,” she said, gripping the fence and leaning toward him with one foot dangling behind her. “Perhaps you could tell me which way I ought to go from here.”

“Depends where you’re going.”

“How would I know? I told you, I’m lost.”

“No,” he said, “what I meant was where are you trying to get to?”

“Away from here.”

“Then—I guess it doesn’t matter which way you go.”

Alice giggled. “Sir, you sound so much like the Cheshire Cat. Do you know him?”

Alan scratched at his receding hairline. “Is that the brown cat that’s always pissing on my wife’s hydrangeas?”

Aliceshook her head and glanced around like a tourist stepping off the plane in a foreign country. “You speak so strangely, sir, and everything here looks so very different from what I’m accustomed to. Which part of Wonderland is this?”

“You’re not in Wonderland,” Alan said. “You’re in suburbia.”

Alice stepped away from the fence, her eyes wide. “This just gets curiouser and curiouser.”

~ by themoderntranscendentalist on September 6, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
