Election Day

At the end of the month my story, Election Day, will disappear from the homepage for Mobius: The Journal of Social Change like a fart disappearing on a windy day…actually I guess they’ll still have it in their archives but you get what I’m saying. The story was featured on Mobius’s website for the past three months as part of its summer edition. It was nice to have a story featured on an official looking website, mainly because it provided proof that I am actually a writer.

“Oh, you’re a writer?”

“Yeah. Check out this website. There’s a story I wrote on there that will totally put any doubts you have to rest.”

Call it insecurity, but it’s reassuring to have some ammunition at one’s disposal when dealing with the cynicism of the non-writing world, especially when writing is not one’s official vocation. It’s proof that, yes, I write and every now and then someone thinks my writing is good enough to slap it on a website or in a journal or the inside of a bathroom stall. It also helps me avoid uncomfortable conversations with people who pretend to be interested in what I do.

“Oh…a writer, huh? That’s…interesting. So what kind of stuff do you-um-write?”

“Here. Just go to this website and leave me alone.”

In all seriousness, Election Day is a story I’m proud of because I think it embodies the kind of stories I enjoy writing. It’s social satire with a dark side. It’s the real world with a twist. It exists in the same world as The Living Impaired, my infamous story about zombies who work at Walmart.

If you haven’t read it yet, check it out at http://www.mobiusmagazine.com/

~ by themoderntranscendentalist on August 17, 2011.

2 Responses to “Election Day”

  1. No question about it — you are in incredible writer.
    There do seem to be a lot of allusions to passing gas, however. You may want to get that checked out…

Leave a Reply

 
